GUIDE

Customer support outsourcing costs for a small SaaS

What freelancers and agencies charge to answer your customers, the minimums and notice behind each price, and where outsourcing breaks for a small SaaS.

By the Deacon team

Published

Updated

Customer support outsourcing means paying a freelancer or an agency to answer your customers for you. Upwork says freelance customer support reps typically charge $10 to $15 an hour. Agencies that print a price mostly sell you a person, by the hour or the month, such as Hugo from $11 an hour or Influx from $1,000 a month for a part-timer. For a small SaaS, the catch isn’t the rate. You pay for someone’s hours whether customers write in or not, and they can only answer what you’ve written down for them.

Deacon is an AI customer support agent for founders who answer support themselves. It answers the questions your docs already cover in seconds, at any hour, and leaves the rest for you in your dashboard. It also shows you what customers ask about most, so you know what to fix and what to build next. There’s a free plan, and it needs no card.

Every price and figure below was read on its source’s own page on 23 September 2026, and each one links there.

What customer support outsourcing costs

Outsourced customer support is sold by the hour, by the person each month or by the chat. Many customer service outsourcing companies won’t print a price, and 5 of the 10 in this table sell only on a quote.

A freelancer on Upwork

What it costs
Typically $10 to $15 an hour for customer support and $15 to $30 for technical support, plus a fee of up to 7.99%
The least you can buy
The hours you agree
Contract and notice
Whatever you agree

HelpSquad

What it costs
$185 a month for 50 chats, $350 for 100, $600 for 200
The least you can buy
50 chats a month
Contract and notice
Not stated. Free to try

Hugo

What it costs
From $11 an hour an agent
The least you can buy
Not stated. Its teams are full-time
Contract and notice
Month to month, scaled up or down on 24 hours’ notice

Influx

What it costs
From $1,000 a month part-time, or full-time from $1,400 in Asia-Pacific and $1,700 in the Americas
The least you can buy
1 agent, 4 hours a day
Contract and notice
Month to month, a month’s notice, no setup fee

Influx, managed

What it costs
From $2,000 an agent a month in Asia-Pacific or EMEA and $2,100 in the Americas, plus a team leader
The least you can buy
Varies by agent type
Contract and notice
Month to month, a month’s notice, no setup fee

Triniter

What it costs
$1,999 a person a month
The least you can buy
Not stated
Contract and notice
Not stated

Wing Assistant

What it costs
$1,299 a month for a full-time customer service rep, or $1,199 an agent for a team of 3 or more
The least you can buy
1 rep, 160 hours a month
Contract and notice
Month to month, with no contract

SupportYourApp

What it costs
Not published. It depends on the size of the team, the languages and your business hours
The least you can buy
1 agent
Contract and notice
Not published

EverHelp

What it costs
Not published. Per agent or per ticket
The least you can buy
1 agent, 3 for a dedicated team, 6 for a shared one
Contract and notice
Not published

Helpware, SupportNinja and Simply Contact

What it costs
Not published
The least you can buy
Not published
Contract and notice
Not published

One price is lower than anything in the table. tawk.to, the free live chat tool, says on its Why is tawk.to free? page that it will train chat agents to answer for you at $1 an hour. Its own page for hiring them now leads to a list of add-ons that doesn’t mention them, so ask before you count on it.

Starting prices are floors, and averages run higher. Clutch, a directory where clients review agencies, puts the average cost of hiring a customer service outsourcing company at $25 to $49 an hour, and says the projects reviewed there typically cost $10,000 to $49,999. It last updated those figures on 21 September 2026. If you hired someone yourself in the US instead, the median wage for a customer service representative was $21.53 an hour in May 2025.

Each price buys something different. Hugo’s hourly rate includes team leads, onboarding, management, quality checks, training and workforce planning. Influx’s cheaper option is the agent alone, and its managed one adds a team leader, training, performance management and reporting. On Upwork you manage the freelancer yourself. The Basic plan’s service fee turns a $100 contract into $105 in most countries and $107.99 in 11, including the UK, Germany and Australia, plus a one-time fee of $0.99 to $14.99 for each new contract. Simply Contact offers to be paid per resolved contact instead of per seat, and EverHelp prices its shared teams per ticket, but neither says how much.

Where outsourcing breaks for a small SaaS

Outsourcing works best when lots of questions arrive steadily and follow a script. A small SaaS tends to get fewer questions, in bursts, about software that keeps changing. Here’s where that shows.

You pay for hours, not questions

Nearly every published price buys time or a person, so a quiet week costs the same as a busy one. Influx’s part-time agent at $1,000 a month works out at $10 a question if 100 questions come in that month, and $2 if 500 do. Cost per contact shows how to work it out for your own month. HelpSquad comes closest to paying for use, at $3.70 a chat on its cheapest plan.

They only know what you’ve written down

An outsourced agent answers from your help pages, a script and whatever you covered in the handover. HelpSquad’s cheapest live chat plan comes with 25 FAQs, written with you. That’s room for how to add a teammate, but not for why the export fails in Safari. Upwork’s guide says troubleshooting software “may require a firm understanding of how the program works”, and it puts technical support specialists at a typical $15 to $30 an hour, against $10 to $15 for customer support reps. Every release you ship means another page to write and another briefing to give, and the bugs still come back to you.

It takes weeks to start

Influx says a first-line agent can be picked in a week and onboarded in 1 to 2 more. Hugo promises a team in under 2 weeks, and SupportYourApp gives its time to launch as “from one week”. Before any of that, you write the material they’ll learn from.

People leave

Verint surveyed 1,000 agents in contact centres of more than 300 agents for The State of Agent Experience 2026. In No Jitter’s report on it, 31% said they were likely to leave their role within 6 months, rising to 46% of those aged 18 to 34. When an agent leaves, whoever replaces them learns your product from your docs all over again.

The reports are about the team, not your customers

What agencies report on is their own team. Influx’s managed option covers customer satisfaction, service levels and resolution rates, and HelpSquad sends weekly chat metric reports alongside the transcripts. What customers asked for, what confused them and what they want next stays in those transcripts until somebody reads them all. Upwork suggests asking your rep to report back the questions that keep coming up, which is more hours on the bill.

When outsourcing is the right call

Outsourcing earns its price when the work needs a person and there’s enough of it to fill their hours. These are the signs.

  • Your customers phone you.
  • Most questions need someone to act inside another system, such as issuing a refund, changing an order or cancelling a plan.
  • You answer on email, WhatsApp or social media as well as on your site.
  • You need a person on hand around the clock. Hugo sells cover “365/24/7” in more than 60 languages.

If that’s you, pick a provider that prints its terms and start with a single agent on a month-to-month contract. Write the docs they’ll answer from before they start. An AI support agent answers from the same docs, so the writing pays off whichever way you go. Customer support for startups covers what to set up before you hire or outsource anyone.

How Deacon fits a small SaaS

Deacon takes the part of support that doesn’t need a person, the repeat questions your docs already answer, and leaves you the part that does.

It answers the repeat questions in seconds. Deacon replies to your customers from your help pages, files and the answers you write, at any hour and in the language they write in. When your docs don’t cover a question, it says it doesn’t know instead of guessing, and asks for the visitor’s email. There’s no handover call and no fortnight of onboarding. You paste one script tag into your site, or give the prompt from the Install page to a coding agent such as Claude Code, Cursor or Codex. A file or a single page is ready to answer from as soon as it’s been read. Give it your website when you sign up, and it learns by itself from your main pages, such as pricing and help. It can answer within a minute or so.

It leaves the rest to you, with the whole conversation. The questions your docs didn’t cover wait in your dashboard. When a visitor leaves their email or asks for a person, you get an email. Reply from the dashboard, and if they still have the chat open, your reply appears there under your name. That’s human handoff, with no helpdesk to buy or staff.

It gets better every time you answer. A question your docs didn’t cover gets an Answer this button. Write the answer once and it becomes part of what Deacon knows, so it can answer the next person who asks. Save & check shows you the reply Deacon now gives and how many other open questions your answer covers. An agent who leaves takes what you taught them. What you teach Deacon stays.

It shows you what customers ask. Every conversation is saved and searchable by what visitors asked. Topics group their questions, count the people who asked and label most of them as a feature ask, a bug report, a how-to and so on. Analytics › Widget shows how many people wrote in, the share Deacon answered and the languages they used, and names the page where people get stuck once one stands out. It’s customer feedback from everyone who asked, not just the few who email, and nobody has to read through transcripts to find it.

You pay for a plan, not for hours. Free gives you 50 answers a month, 1 seat and every feature, with no card and no end date. Starter is $50 a month, or $40 a month billed yearly, for 1,000 answers a month and 3 seats. Growth is $150 a month, or $120 a month billed yearly, for 4,000 answers a month and 10 seats. Nothing is billed past your plan’s answers, and no plan upgrades itself.

How to choose

Last month’s support inbox tells you which to buy. Go through it and put every question in one of three piles.

  1. Questions your docs, pricing page or changelog already answer.
  2. Fair questions nobody has written an answer to yet.
  3. Questions that need you, or someone logged in to your systems, such as bug reports, refunds and plan changes.

Deacon takes the first pile from the day you add it, and the second as you answer each question once. The third needs a person. If it would fill someone’s week, outsourcing earns its price. If it wouldn’t, keep it yourself and let Deacon take the rest. How to reduce support tickets covers shrinking all three piles.

Questions about customer support outsourcing

How much does it cost to outsource customer support?

It depends on how you buy it. Upwork says freelance customer support reps typically charge $10 to $15 an hour, plus its fee. Of the agencies that print a price, Hugo starts at $11 an hour, Influx at $1,000 a month for a part-time agent, Wing Assistant at $1,299 a month for a full-time rep and Triniter at $1,999 a person a month. HelpSquad’s live chat starts at $185 a month for 50 chats. Clutch puts the average agency at $25 to $49 an hour.

What’s the difference between onshore, nearshore and offshore support?

Onshore agents work in your own country, nearshore ones in a country nearby, often in your time zone, and offshore ones further away. It shows in the price. Influx’s full-time agent starts at $1,400 a month in Asia-Pacific and $1,700 in the Americas.

Can I outsource customer support for a few hours a week?

Yes, mostly through freelancers, who bill by the hour for the hours you agree. Influx’s shortest option is 4 hours a day, from $1,000 a month, and Hugo’s teams are full-time. HelpSquad’s live chat plans count chats rather than hours.

How long does outsourced support take to set up?

Between 1 and 4 weeks, by the providers’ own counts. Influx picks a first-line agent in a week and onboards them in 1 to 2 more, and says you can be live 2 to 4 weeks after your first conversation. Hugo assembles a team in under 2 weeks and SupportYourApp launches from 1 week. Deacon’s script takes a few minutes to add, and it answers from a file or a page as soon as it’s been read.

Can AI replace outsourced customer support?

For the questions your docs already answer, yes. An AI support agent answers those in seconds, at any hour, and the only training it needs is your docs. Deacon can’t take phone calls, act in your systems or answer what nobody has written down, so if most of your support is refunds, account changes or calls, you still need a person. Will AI replace customer service? looks at what happened when companies tried.

Can Deacon answer the phone or reply to email?

No. Deacon answers in a chat widget on your website, and you reply to customers from its dashboard. It has no phone agent, no support inbox for email and no WhatsApp, Instagram or SMS channel.

Can Deacon issue refunds or change a customer’s plan?

No. Deacon takes no actions in other systems, and it declines any question about a visitor’s own account, invoice or data. It asks for their email instead, so you can pick it up.

What happens when a month’s answers run out?

Visitors get a short reply saying Deacon can’t look into that one right now, and are asked for their email unless they’ve already left it in that conversation. Nothing is billed past your plan’s answers, and you can still read and reply to every conversation.

Try it on your own documentation

Add your help pages, ask it the question you know your docs cannot answer, and watch it say so.

The free plan covers 50 answers a month on one seat, and the paid plans are on the pricing page.

Start free

Free plan, no card.

READ NEXT